ODOP: Old Danilo (17)

Subtitled: Oh, hey there, titular character. How’s it been going?

“Come, old Danilo! I will bear you back.”
But Danilo refused. “Then you die here.” “Then
I do. Leave me alone! Hain’t I led you
To a maiden surpassingly fair,
Superlatively true? Do you have more
To ask of a man ready to die? – more
Than ready? I’m done serving. Here I die.”
The treetops above them burst into flame:
They turned to see the dragon, now six-headed.
“Er – let’s get going,” said old Danilo.

Copyright 2010 Jobey George.

Leave a Reply

