ODOP: Old Danilo (4)

Bad dreams still plagued the prince. So for a while,
Either a long time or a short one – for while
To tell a tale ’tis a thirsty thing,
Still we hear ’tis yet a thirstier
To go live one – Ivan traveled that foreign
Kingdom, the hounds at his heels, and came to
A fair. He hailed an old man in rags
Surrounded by fat sheep. “Shall I bless you, child?”
“And why do I need a blessing from you?”
“Always accept a blessing from the old.”

“Are you old?” “I’m called Danilo the Old,
And I was steward to your father, both
While he was on the throne and in exile.”
“Give me a blessing then, Old Danilo.”
Danilo asked him to guard the sheep he
Had won that hour while he searched for a stall.
But then, he said diffidently, he’d
Had nothing of his own all these years, and
Was bound to lose those too. “Worry not.” But
As the sun moved Ivan grew hungrier.

Copyright 2010 Jobey George

2 Comments »

  1. Lelo said

    Ohmigosh, I’ve been remiss in not keeping up with the coolest blog ever, and now I have all this great stuff to catch up on! The last line of this one is my favorite. πŸ™‚

  2. Beware the moving sun!

    I have to confess, I was wondering very much what you’d think of “The Tornado and the Dog.”

    I also have two posts of yours to catch up on. They were really long, see, so I have to find more than five minutes to re-read more carefully and respond. πŸ˜‰

    *goes off to see if there are any five minutes available on the black market of Tempus*

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

