ODOP: Written Before Coffee

Still fog; the world, in a fit of modesty, puts on a veil,
Perhaps shyness for how well it sated us last night.
Still sleepless yet, you the scout, and I the clown,
We catch our life of cold by the grey shore, and listen
While the ocean roars its incomprehensible secrets to us.
Your ankle is still sprained (though you let the tide lick it),
the cost of adventure (we could pay no other).
But though I doubt the saltwater’s healing properties,
I am satisfied: peace dribbles down your chin.

Copyright 2010 Jobey George

4 Comments »

  1. I love this! Sometimes the best inspiration comes either when you first wake up or about to go to sleep!

  2. Thank you so much! Yes; I thought it was awful as I was writing it (hence the deprecating title), but when I looked at it again a few days later I was much more impressed with the effort.

    Of course, sleep deprivation is a kind of drug, isn’t it? 😉

  3. Lelo said

    Agreed! And the moments after first waking are especially precious; we have an oddly lucid mind at that time, I think, but it recedes rapidly along with the shreds of dream we keep.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

