ODOP: untitled

A week of prompts! Today’s was “hazy” and “Was it out of love or malice?”

Now that the floods of blood
surround me, staining boots and
ragged hem, I find you
tempted to plead me
helpless, a soul caught
in the heat of emergency, my motives
ghosts made hazy in the desperate alarm.
They spit, call me skullcrusher,
doomslayer, unreckonable fool,
to see if I claim revenge,
or dare to claim humanity; but
the stars are shining clear now
and the murderer won’t play.

I did it because it was
the only thing to do. And I was there.

Copyright 2010 Jobey George

Leave a Reply

