ODOP: The Fortunate

Actually, Lelo got two poems for the price of one request. See what good bargains we offer here at One Day One Poem? Remember to leave your request for any occasion.

All the others, it seemed,
Could draw nothing but devils and deaths,
Upside-down cups and pentacles.

The worst fortune was left to me:
I alone of us all drew
Great wisdom, long life.

And now darker far than a dark moon
On a dark night are those faces
I once loved more than my own.

Copyright 2010 Jobey George.

2 Comments »

  1. Lelo said

    This one I think I like even better. The postponing of the verbs in the second and third stanzas is particularly pleasing. Yay!

  2. I’m glad you got a good one out of the prompt, then. 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

